Closed doors


I do not know where to begin to tell what happened in the debate about the Internet that took place yesterday, organized by the magazine Temas. Undoubtedly, the blonde wig I put on allowed me to slip through the controlled entrance of the Fresa y Chocolate Cultural Center. That and high heels, lipstick, shiny earrings and an enormous, painfully-bright purse, transformed me into someone sufficiently different. Some friends came to tell me that I looked better like that, with a tightly-fitted short dress, a sexy walk and square-framed glasses. My apologies to them, the person whose role I acted didn’t last long and today I’ve returned to my disheveled and boring appearance.

They didn’t allow Claudia, Reinaldo, Eugenio, Ciro and other bloggers to enter. “The institution reserves the right of admission,” and my cyberspace colleagues showed the impertinence of those who have already been excluded from other places, but didn’t want to retreat, embarrassed and in silence. Inside, I managed to find a seat next to the panel of speakers. Some adroit eyes had already detected my reedy physiognomy and a camera filmed me with the insistence of one preparing a dossier.

A young writer asked to speak and lamented that so many had been prevented from entering; then someone came and mentioned terms such as “enemy,” “dangerous,” and “defend ourselves.” When finally I was called, I took the opportunity to ask what relationship there is between the limitations in bandwidth and the many websites censored for the Cuban public. There was applause when I finished. I swear I didn’t collude with any of them. Afterward, a university professor came up and questioned why I had received the Ortega y Gasset journalism prize. I still haven’t managed to find the relationship between my question and her analysis, but the paths of defamation are so twisted. At the end, several came up to me to give me hugs, one woman gave me just a touch of her hand and said “congratulations.” The crisp October night waited for me outside.

If all those not allowed access had managed to participate, that would have been a true space for debate about the web. What happened felt withered and shackled. Only one of the speakers mentioned concepts such as Web 2.0, social networks and Wikipedia. The rest was the anticipated vaccine against the perverse web, the repeated justifications for why Cubans cannot access it en masse. I took my phone and quickly Tweeted, “I think it would be best to organize another debate about the Internet, without the burden of censorship and exclusion.” This morning, with dark circles from having slept only three hours, I was delivering technical manuals in the second session of our Blogger Academy.

Some of the images in this video were taken by friendly hands in solidarity and are from inside the room.

Transcript of Video
Note: This transcript was very generously prepared by two of the readers of the blog: Julio de la Yncera and “Cold in Chicago”

[Outside]
Gentleman to the left: This is an activity by ICAIC [Cuban Institute of Cinematographic Arts and Industry] and ICAIC invites people understood by them to be appropriate. You people are not invited and can’t come in.
Claudia Cadelo [Independent Blogger]: But entry is free to all!!
Reinaldo Escobar [Independent Journalist and Blogger and Yoani’s Husband]: Pardon me, I don’t know about her situation, but invitations were not passed out.
Man with red shirt: But there is a right of admission [that is the institution reserves the right to restrict admission].
Reinaldo: Yes, I understand, but who is on the list of the inadmissible?
Man with red shirt: No, no list is needed.
Reinaldo: She (Claudia) does not have the right to enter?
Man with red shirt: No.
Reinaldo: And I, do I have the right to enter?
Man with red shirt: No.

[Inside the room]

Man with dark sleeveless shirt (Author):
And to say as Desiderio [Navarro] said earlier, power can slow down the spread of technologies it cannot control, but itcannot prevent it. When arrows first appeared, the feudal lords tried to prohibit them. Arrows and later firearms for those unauthorized. Power, totalitarian power is based on control over information. The Internet among its many faults has a virtue.

As Desiderio pointed out, it allows for correct information, incorrect information, false information, unreal information, all divulged equally as much as the “correct and real official information.” And this, it seems to me, is something that the powers that be do not know how to deal with, and the more they try to impede it, the more they try to clench their fist around that precious stone that is their control and dominance, the more they squeeze it, the higher the risk that that stone will turn to sand, and roll down their fingers.

I believe Desiderio mentioned a word about an article by Rafael, the director of [the magazine] Temas last week: “Cyber-chancleteo” [cyber-trash-talking]. I think that cyber-trash-talking is the negative part of this debate, and when I entered this room, there were still many empty seats. There are still many people left outside who thought, wrongly, that this was a free, open debate, something that I think the editors of the magazine and organizers also thought, and did not realize that any comment about the Internet, about the broadcast of ideas, discussion of various viewpoints, is tremendously conflicted, but not because of conflict will they be able to silence us.

The Internet allows us to stand on our own. A man standing on his own achieves certain possibilities. That is, he has the Internet advantage, and this is not something all Cubans have. The man who stands can take oppositional postures against the monopoly of information currently held by government newspapers and news programs, a government that seeks to impose its point of view over reality, since it is incapable of imposing reality itself. I believe that in that regard, I don’t know how many of those who are present, expected the panel to speak about that. I believe that precisely, the panel has been very cautious in not speaking because we’ve all been waiting to say it ourselves.

[Applause]

[Yoani goes to the microphone]

Voice from audience: They do damage to Cuban-ness, they do damage to the fatherland, they do damage not only to our fatherland…….

Yoani:
Well, I’m glad my name has been mentioned, I have come incognito [in a blonde wig and glasses which she now has removed], but well, I’m happy to be here. No, no I know, but I would like to ask…. What relationship exists between bandwidth, the trumpeted bandwidth that every now and then they bring up to explain why we Cuban citizens cannot access the Internet en masse and the censored sites?

I’m talking about a variety of sites where one may find things as inoffensive as a parish in the Canary Islands where Cubans can find the birth certificates of our grandparents. A site like Cuba Encuentro, Cuba Net, Voces Cubanas, a magnificent blogger platform that is maintained from Cuba, but which was censored as of the last week of August. My own web site that has existed for more than a year and a half. This is the same ideological screening that was used to exclude from this debate people like Claudia Cadelo from the Octavo Cerco blog, a magnificent window open to the real Cuba, to the Cuba of a generation that has never spoken. Blogs like Desde Aqui, by a journalist expelled from the official media, my husband Reinaldo Escobar.

That is also why I have come here, in this way, having outflanked the police encirclement surrounding my home to come to this debate. Why in the virtual Cuba, is censorship being repeated, intimidation, stigmatization of people because they think differently?   Is this “cyber-garbage”? Is writing what you call “garbage” the same as telling the truth without subterfuges? Is writing what you call “garbage” the same as not bowing before an official opinion? I was born in a tenement in Central Havana in the Cayo Hueso neighborhood. If what we say is “cyber-garbage” let it be welcomed. This society needs it.

[Applause]

[Outside again]

Reinaldo Escobar: We know that the magazine Temas is characterized to an extent in the debate by a large participation in the ideological debate. But in this case they did not allow us, people who think differently, to go there. That is to say, that’s really a very bad position for the reputation of the journal Temas as a place for debate. Because there is no sense in debating with people who agree with you. No? And here we were, outside, and we came early at 3:30 we were here and the institution claimed the right of admission [of choosing who to admit]. The journal Temas says they are innocent, that the fault is the ICAIC’s. This place, “Fresa y Chocolate” center is an institution of ICAIC that is responsible for the art and industry of cinematography, and here we are in front; they did not allow us and our opinions in to a civilized debate, we would have very much loved to do it.

21 thoughts on “Closed doors

  1. #20
    vecino:
    Me parece que usted esta haciendo el payaso, puede ser que a usted tambien esta aceptando dinero de los capitalistas?
    Si no es asi, como es que usted manda su mensage; puede ser que usted tambien es un mercenario … de el otro lado?
    Neighbor:
    It appears to me it is you making like the clown, is it possible that you to is accepting money from the capitalists?
    If it is not so, how is it that you are sending this message; is it possible that you are also a mercenary … but from the other side?
    sea como el che … fracase en todo lo que trate de hacer
    Be like che … fail in everything you try to do

  2. la mercenaria esta de Yoani, lo que tiene que hacer es ponerse a trabajar y dejar de vivir del cuento que ya esta bien de montar números y hacer el payaso para que le sigan pagando los capitalistas por sus bufonadas de niña pija.

  3. Go Yoaní!!!! You are intrepid! Indomitable! As we move toward the anniversary of the Fall of the Berlin Wall, which I remember so well, I see in you the kind of fortitude that we saw then in Germany and in the Eastern Bloc countries in those days. It was amazing. People found their voices and the Wall crumbled and the Bloc fell. This will happen in Cuba too, and it will not be with guns and tanks. It will be with keyboards.

  4. CENTURIES AGO:
    Very near the time when the printing press came to be, there were very few knowing how to read and/or write.
    Thsi was a source of power to the eminent religious leaders of the time.
    Associated with kings and their class they had a stranglehold on the illiterate people; as you can imagine … the abuses were to say the lsit rampant.
    There was no religious behaviour in fairness nor legislative justice in practice.
    Now days, with a very few changes this continues, name of devices have changed, times have changed, yet: it seems everything remains the same.
    It seems … but for a few people with a commitment, with courage & strength.
    The changes can’t be stopped by the regime’s force of the gun or by the inculcation of the young & defenseless.
    But for the few … hope could die …

  5. Made a couple of corrections to translation below….

    Translator:

    I did not yet see a translation for the debate video, so here is my version. Based on the Spanish text provided by Julio.

    Gentleman to the left:
    (This) is an activity by ICAIC (Cuban Institute of Art and Cinematography) and ICAI invites people understood by them to be appropriate. You all are not invited and can’t come in

    Claudia:
    But entry is free to all!!

    Reinaldo:
    Pardon me, I don’t know about her situation, but invitations were not passed out.

    Man with red shirt:
    But there is no right to enter

    Reinaldo:
    Yes, I understand, but who is on the list of the inadmissible?

    Man with red pullover:
    No, no list is needed

    Reinaldo:
    She (Claudia) does not have the right to enter

    Man with red pullover:
    No

    Reinaldo:
    And I, do I have the right to enter?

    Man with red pullover:
    No

    Man with dark sleeveless shirt:

    And to say as Desiderio said earlier, power can slow down the spread of technologies it cannot control, but cannot prevent it.
    When arrows first appeared, the feudal lords tried to prohibit them. Arrows and later fire arms for those unauthorized.

    Power, totalitarian power is based on control over information. (The) Internet among its many faults has a virtue. As Desiderio pointed out, it allows for correct, incorrect information, false information, unreal information, all divulged equally as much as the “correct and real official information”. And all this seems to me is something that the powers that be, do not know how to deal with, and the more they try to impede it, the more they try to clench their fist around that precious stone that is their control and dominance, the more they squeeze it the higher the risk that that stone will turn to sand, and roll down their fingers.

    I believe Desiderio mentioned a word about an article by Rafael, the director of Temas (the magazine) last week: “ Cyber -chancleteo” (cyber slip-clacking)
    I think that cyber slip-clacking is the negative part of this debate, and when I entered this room, there were still many empty seats. There are still many people left outside who thought wrongly, that this was a free, open debate, something that I think the editors of the magazine and organizers also thought, and did not realize that any comment about the Internet, about the broadcast of ideas, discussion of various viewpoints, is tremendously conflictive, but not because of conflict will they be able to silence us. The Internet allows us to stand on our own. A man standing on his own achieves certain possibilities. That is, he has the Internet advantage, and this is not something all Cubans have. The man who stands can take oppositional postures against the monopoly of information currently held by government newspapers and news programs, a government that seeks to impose its point of view above reality, since it is incapable of imposing reality itself.
    I believe that in that regard, I don’t know how many of those who are present, expected the panel to speak about that. I believe that precisely, the panel has been very cautious in not speaking because we’ve all been waiting to say it ourselves.

    Applause

    Yoani now takes the stand…..

    Voice from audience:
    They do damage to Cuban ness, they do damage to the fatherland, they do damage not only to our fatherland…….

    Yoani:
    Well, I’m glad my name has been mentioned, I have come incognito, but well, I’m happy to be here.
    No, no I know but I would like to ask…. What relationship exists between bandwidth, the trumpeted bandwidth that every now and then they bring up to explain why us Cuban citizens cannot assist en masse to the Internet and to censured sites?
    I’m talking about a variety of sites where one may find things as inoffensive as a parish in the Canary Islands where Cubans can find the birth certificate of our grandparents. A site like Cuba Encuentro, Cuba Net, Voces Cubanas a magnificent blogger platform that maintained from Cuba, but which was censured last week of August. My own web site that has existed for more than a year and a half. This is the same ideological screening that was used to exclude from this debate people like Claudia Cadelo from the Octavo Cerco blog, a magnificent window open to the real Cuba, to the Cuba of a generation that has never spoken. Blogs like Desde Aqui, by a journalist expelled from the official media, just like my husband Reinaldo Escobar. That is also why I have come here, in this way, having outflanked the police encirclement surrounding my home and enter this debate.
    Why in the virtual Cuba, censorship is being repeated, intimidation, stigmatization of people because they think differently.

    Is this cyber slip-clacking?
    Is being a slip-clacker the same as telling the truth without subterfuges?
    Is being a slip-clacker the same as not bowing before an official opinion?
    I was born in a tenement in Central Havana in the Cayo Hueso neighborhood. If that is cyber slip-clacking let it be welcomed. This society needs it.

    Applauses

  6. Translator:

    I did not yet see a translation for the debate video, so here is my version. Based on the Spanish text provided by Julio.

    Gentleman to the left:
    (this) is an activity by ICAIC (Cuban Institute of Art and Cinematography) and ICAI invites people understood by them to be appropriate. You all are not invited and can’t come in

    Claudia:
    But entry is free to all!!

    Reinaldo:
    Pardon me, I don’t know about her situation, but invitations were not passed out.

    Man with red shirt:
    But there is no right to enter

    Reinaldo:
    Yes, I understand, but who is on the list of the inadmissible?

    Man with red pullover:
    No, no list is needed

    Reinaldo:
    She (Claudia) does not have the right to enter

    Man with red pullover:
    No

    Reinaldo:
    And I, do I have the right to enter?

    Man with red pullover:
    No

    Man with dark sleeveless shirt:

    And to say as Desiderio said earlier, power can slow down the spread of technologies it cannot control, but cannot prevent it.
    When arrows first appeared, the feudal lords tried to prohibit them. Arrows and later fire arms for those unauthorized.

    Power, totalitarian power is based on control over information. (The) Internet among its many faults has a virtue. As Desiderio pointed out, it allows for correct, incorrect information, false information, unreal information, all divulged equally as much as the “correct and real official information”. And all this seems to me is something that the powers that be, do not know how to deal with, and the more they try to impede it, the more they try to clench their fist around that precious stone that is their control and dominance, the more they squeeze it the higher the risk that that stone will turn to sand, and roll down their fingers.

    I believe Desiderio mentioned a word about an article by Rafael, the director of Temas (the magazine) last week: “ Cyber -chancleteo” (cyber slip-clacking)
    I think that cyber slip-clacking is the negative part of this debate, and when I entered this room, there were still many empty seats. There are still many people left outside who thought wrongly, that this was a free, open debate, something that I think the editors of the magazine and organizers also thought, and did not realize that any comment about the Internet, about the broadcast of ideas, discussion of various viewpoints, is tremendously conflictive, but not because of conflict will they be able to silence us. The Internet allows us to stand on our own. A man standing on his own achieves certain possibilities. That is, he has the Internet advantage, and this is not something all Cubans have. The man who stands can take oppositional postures against the monopoly of information currently held by government newspapers and news programs, a government that seeks to impose its point of view above reality, since it is incapable of imposing reality itself.
    I believe that in that regard, I don’t know how many of those who are present, expected the panel to speak about that. I believe that precisely, the panel has been very cautious in not speaking because we’ve all been waiting to say it ourselves.

    Applause

    Yoani now takes the stand…..

    Voice from audience:
    They do damage to Cuban ness, they do damage to the fatherland, they do damage not only to our fatherland…….

    Yoani:
    Well, I’m glad my name has been mentioned, I have come incognito, but well, I’m happy to be here.
    No, no I know but I would like to ask…. What relationship exists between bandwidth, the trumpeted bandwidth that every now and then they bring up to explain why us Cuban citizens cannot assist en masse to the Internet and to censured sites?
    I’m talking about a variety of sites where one may find things as inoffensive as a parish in the Canary Islands where Cubans can find the birth certificate of our grandparents. A site like Cuba Encuentro, Cuba Net, Voces Cubanas a magnificent blogger platform that maintained from Cuba, but which was censured last week of August. My own web site that has existed for more than a year and a half. This is the same ideological screening that was used to exclude from this debate people like Claudia Cadelo from the Octavo Cerco blog, a magnificent window open to the real Cuba, to the Cuba of a generation that has never spoken. Blogs like Desde Aqui, by a journalist expelled from the official media, just like my husband Reinaldo Escobar. That is also why I have come here, in this way, having outflanked the police encirclement surrounding my home and enter this debate.
    Because in the virtual Cuba, censorship is repeated, intimidation, stigmatization of people because they think differently.

    Is this cyber slip-clacking?
    Is being a slip-clacker to tell the truth without subterfuges?
    Is being a slip-clacker not to bow before an official opinion?
    I was born in a tenement in Central Havana in the Cayo Hueso neighborhood. If that is cyber slip-clacking let it be welcomed. This society needs it.

    Applauses

  7. Toughts …
    I remember why a debate was and always is perceived as a danger to their status quo.
    If the issues raised by a free debate are “against” the regime’s reality: they have to choose how to respond:
    should they argue against & give validity?
    should they keep quiet & give validity?
    Either way the problem their problem is the people, yet they NEED the people to stay in power.
    The path is there, you have forward so far, so much … be sure, there is doubt in the regime’s ranks; there is a glimer of fear, sensed by their approaching day of change.
    You are closer, perhaps closer than you know … be prepared for their only way to answer … fear.
    A firm hug and a wink … HOPE EXISTS!!!

  8. It makes me so proud to see that there are people like Yoani, Reinaldo, and the man with the sleeveless shirt, who spoke up their mind at the so called “debate” all of whom did not mind the consequences which could be serious in a totalitarian state like Cuba. Particularly since there were Castro thugs in the audience.

    Again, I congratulate and admire you all. Best wishes and much success.

  9. Your welcome translator

    This is the last part
    As Yoani goes out of the building
    Reinaldo (her husband is speaking out in public showing his dissatisfaction for been denied entrance to the debate about internet in Cuba. )

    Reinaldo
    Se sabe que la revista “Tema” se caracteriza por una amplitude en el debate por una gran participacion en el debate ideological. Pero en este caso no permitieron que entraramos las personas que pensamos diferente a lo que iva a poner alla. Es decir que realmente a quedado en muy mala posicion la reputacion de la revista Tema como un lugar para debatir. Por que no tiene ningun sentido debater con los que estan de acuerdo con uno. No?
    Y aqui afuera nos quedamos y vinimos desde temprano a las 3:30 estamos aqui y la institucion adujo el derecho a la admission. La revista Tema dice que ellos son inocentes. Que es culpa del ICAIC. Este lugar “Fresa y Chocolate” es una institucion del ICAIC y que es responsabilidad del instituto de artes e industria cinematografica que esta aqui en frente el que no se nos haya permitido entrar a debatir civilizadamente nuestras opiniones nos hubiera encantado realmente hacerlo

  10. Gracias Gracias Muchisismas Gracias!!!!!! Voy a traducirlo un poco mas tarde.

  11. Translator here is the transcription of almost everything in the video
    I included what was spoken by many others including the person that spoke before Yoani. It shows she is not alone. Many many other Cubans want the same as her in Cuba.

    Senor a la isquierda
    Es una actividad del ICAIC(Instituto Cubano de Arte y Cinematografia) y el ICAI invita a las personas que entiende necesario. Uds no estan invitados y no pueden pasar.
    Claudia:
    Pero si la entrada es libre!
    Reinaldo:
    Disculpe pero no se cual sera el caso de ella. Invitaciones no dieron.
    Hombre de pullover rojo:
    No pero hay derecho de admission
    Reinaldo:
    Si yo lo entiendo pero la lista de los no admitidos quienes son?
    Hombre de pullover rojo:
    No no hay una lista.
    Reinaldo:
    Ella no tiene derecho a admission
    Hombre de pullover rojo:
    No
    Reinaldo:
    Y yo tengo derecho a admission?
    Hombre de pullover rojo
    No

    Man with dark sleeveless shirt(Author)
    Y decirles como a dicho Desiderio el poder puede retrazar la difusion de una technologia que no puede
    Controlar pero no puede impedirla.
    Cuando aparecieron las fleches los caballeros feudales trataron de prohibir tanto las fleches como despues trataron de prohibir las armas de fuego para los que no tenian licensia.
    El poder, el poder totalitario se basa en el control de la informacion. Internet entre sus muchos defectos
    Tiene una virtud. Permite como dijo Desiderio permite que informaciones correctas , informaciones incorrectas, informaciones falsas, informaciones irreales, se divulguen al mismo nivel que las “informaciones oficiales”,”correctas”,”reales” y eso me parece que es algo que el poder no sabe como tartar y mientras mast rate de impedirlo mientras mast rate de cerrar esa piedra preciosa que es su control y su dominio entre las manos. Mientras mas la apriete, mas corre el peligro de que esa piedra se le haga arena y se le deslice entre los dedos.
    Creo que Desiderio meciono una palabra de una intervencion de Rafael el director de Temas la semana pasada. “ciber-chancleteo”
    Creo que el ciber-chacleteo es la parte negative del debate y cuando yo entre en este sitio todabia habia muchos acientos vacios. Todabia hay mucha gente que se ha quedado fuera y creyo equivocadamente que este debate era libre algo que creo que los directores de la revista y organizadores se creyeron tambien y no se dieron cuenta que cualquier comentario sobre internet, sobre la diffusion de ideas, discucion de puntos de vista, es tremendamente conflictive, pero no por conflictivo van a lograr que nos cayemos. Internet nos permite que el hombre de a pie. El hombre de a pie que tiene ciertas posibilidades. O sea que tiene internet por que Internet no la tienen todos los cubanos. El hombre de a pie pueda oponerse al monopolio de la informacion que tiene un periodico que tiene un noticiero que tiene un gobierno que pretende imponer sup unto de vista sobre la realidad. Ya que es incapaz de imponer la realidad!
    Creo que en ese sentido no se cuantos de los que estan aqui esperaban que el panel hablara de eso. Creo que precisamente a sido muy prudente por parte del panel no hablar por que todos estabamos esperando decirlo nosotros mismo.
    Aplausos.

    Voz
    Le hacen dano a la cubanidad, le hacen dano a nuestra patria, le hacen dano no solamente a nuestra patria …

    Yoani
    Bueno me allegro ayan mencionado mi nombre, yo he venido oculta pero bueno me alegra estar aqui.
    No, no yo lo se pero si me gustaria preguntar
    Que relacion existe entre el ancho de banda el cacareado ancho de banda que a cada rato nos sacan para explicarnos por que los ciudadanos cubanos no podemos asistir masivamente a internet y las paginas censuradas?
    Estoy hablando de una retaila de sitios donde hay cosas tan inocentes como una parroquia en Islas canarias donde los cubanos podemos buscar la certificacion de nacimiento de nuestros abuelos. Un sitio como Cuba encuentro, Cuba net, Cuba nuestra. Voces cubanas una magnifica plataforma blogger que se hace desde cuba que fue censurada en la ultima semana de agosto. Mi propio sitio web que ya lleva mas de un ano y medio censurado. Entonces es el mismo filtro ideologico que se utilizo para excluir de este debate a personas que debian estar aqui sentados en esa mesa, a blogger como Claudia Cadelo del blog Octavo cerco, magnifica ventana habierta a la cuba real, a la cuba de una generacion que se a quedado sin decir. Blogs como “desde aqui” del periodista expulsado de los medios oficiales Reinaldo Escobar y mi esposo tambien es pore so que yo tengo que venir de esta manera para soltear el cerco policial alrededor de mi casa y llegar a este debate.
    Por que en la cuba virtual se sigue repitiendo la censura , la coaccion, la estigmatizacion de las personas por que piensen diferente?
    Es esto ciber-chancleteo?
    Es ser chancletero decir las verdades sin tapujos?
    Es ser chancletero no doblegarse ante una opinion official?
    Yo naci en un solar de centro Habana, en cayo hueso.
    Si eso es ciberchancleteo bien venido sea!
    A esta sociedad le hace falta!
    Aplausos!

  12. If anyone can give me a transcript (Spanish is fine) of what Yoani said, I will post the text here and on Huffington Post (in English). I cannot understand all it (and as you all know I am a little deaf… so it doesn’t matter if I listen many many times… I can’t read her lips!)

    Thank you very much
    Your Friendly English Translator

  13. Yoani!!!! BRAVO! BRAVO! BRAVO! Eres tan increible!!!! Te admiramos muchismo! Sigue adelante, nosotros siguemos echando paralante tu blog!

  14. ***
    GREAT JOB YOANNI!! You would make a great spy–tricky–smart–pretty–and brave. The communist government may shoot you or let you leave Cuba and keep you from returning. You left right on time. A real daughter of the real Cuban Revolution–like Joan of Arc in France long ago. Yoani shows up and fights for liberty.
    ***
    MUY BUEN TRABAJO YOANNI!! Seras muy buena espia–chapucera–lista–bonita–y patriotica. El gobierno communista puede fusilarte o permitir que sales de Cuba y preventarte de regresar. Saliste en muy buen tiempo. Una hija verdadera del verdad Revolucian Cubana–como Joan of Arc en Francia hace muchos anos. Yoani aparece y lucha por la libertad.
    ***
    John Bibb
    ***

  15. Audacious. Courageous. Fearless. Masterful at getting her message out.

    I just did a google search using the keywords ‘temas cuba internet debate’. Almost all the top listed entries headline Yoani’s latest act of political subversion.

    One of the things that must give the Cuban regime nightmares is what would happen if Cubans had the same level of access to dissident Cuban bloggers as those living outside Cuba do.

  16. If you had any doubt as to who she is and what she does, and if you understand Spanish, I invite you to see this video and you will see clearly that she is for real and have the “Balls” that many of you critics wish you had. This is the person; this is the tool that will make the Cuban people free because she is not afraid of telling it like it is. Yoani, I am speechless when I see and hear you defending your rights and those of others without insulting, just using clear and concise language for which they have no answer, God Bless You, Yoani!

  17. Pingback: Tweets that mention Generation Y » Closed doors -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.