Something more than virtual


On line voting for the blogger contest, A Virtual Island, began August 15.

I invite you to review the list of the sixty-six blogs that are competing for the four prizes which will be presented on 9/09/09. As you can see, the selection is quite ecumenical and there are digital sites of every leanging that have been nominated by readers or by the authors themselves. According to the members of the jury, among whom I have the honored of being, the result is “a showcase as polyphonc and varied as the Cuban reality today, even though it is not a complete list of all the blogs in the country… it is a representation of a phenomenon in Cuba that is expanding and developing every day.”

13 thoughts on “Something more than virtual

  1. I’m very happy for you guys also . By the way you are the only ones happy in the Island.
    And you are in the contest…. you may win the camara so you can take even more pictures.
    I n the other hand I’m very sad for the rest 10,999,996 people in Cuba ,assuming there are 11 million. Have a great week .
    PD There is another post, Hope you elevator is working properly..

  2. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Generation Y » Something more than virtual [desdecuba.com] on Topsy.com

  3. Hi.
    How are you?
    I am fine.
    We are fine.
    We are a happy Cuban family.
    Happy happy happy. We are all happy. All the time.
    We are happy because Papi Fidel gives us everything we need.
    He gives us violins.
    And um… uh… (pssst… what else does Papi F. give us? QUICK! QUICK! Ayudame!)
    Well anyway.
    We are happy.
    Here on our island paradise.
    With Papi Fidel.
    Happy.
    A happy family.
    Keep saying it.
    Maybe you will believe it.
    Yes. Happy. I am happy. I hope you are too. In paradise… happy… so happy…
    Goodbye for now.
    — Mami Happy

  4. The Cuban goverment is desperate and trying to compete with the REAL BLOGGERS. The PROPAGANDA BLOGGERS will be there trying to BULLS**T their lies through. No international prizes for them!

  5. Well, almost all blogs are INCLUDED, even the ones listed below. Problably Lord Voldemort and company will vote for one or all of those.In the other hand this contest may be the first excercise of true democracy in Cuba. I’ve made my choices already.If you wanna know,I won’t tell you, my choices are secret.Just the way it should be,but I’ll give a hint none of the ones listed below

    http://cambiosencuba.blogspot.com

  6. Well, almost all blogs are INCLUDED, even the ones listed below. Problably Lord Voldemort and company will vote for one or all of those.In the other hand this contest may be the first excercise of true democracy in Cuba. I’ve made my choices already.If you wanna know,I won’t tell you, my choices are secret.Just the way it should be,but I’ll give a hint none of the ones listed below

    http://cambiosencuba.blogspot.com/

    http://cubafamilia.blogspot.com/

  7. Well, almost all blogs are INCLUDED, even the ones listed below. Problably Lord Voldemort and company will vote for one or all of those.In the other hand this contest may be the first excercise of true democracy in Cuba. I’ve made my choices already.If you wanna know,I won’t tell you, my choices are secret.Just the way it should be,but I’ll give a hint none of the one listed below

    http://cambiosencuba.blogspot.com/

    http://cubafamilia.blogspot.com/

    http://yohandry.wordpress.com/about/

  8. WOW! Hey people… go to this site. THERE ARE SO MANY NEW CUBAN BLOGS!!! I didn’t even know. And some great ones. But mostly it’s just great to see so many. And somehow they seem more “accessible” with the little photos than just as links in a sidebar.

    And all you guys who read spanish so well… tell us the good ones we might be missing!

Comments are closed.